Of Diabetes and Hiking

Yeah, it’s a pain.   I spent what seemed like HOURS wrapping combination of low and high carb pasta, and it’s really a crap shoot as to whether or not it will work.   Will I have too few carbs to get up the trail, or too many to control my diabetes?   We’ll see.   At least if it’s too few, I can buy pasta along the way.  And Snickers bars.  

Oh – and for anyone keeping track, my starting HbA1C is 5.6.   That is good enough that I really expect it to go UP once my diet deteriorates into any and everything in sight.    We’ll see.   I’ve told my doctor that if my fasting blood sugars get to the low 90s on a regular basis and it doesn’t go over 150 even with ice cream or Snickers bars, the testing stuff is being sent home.   If it happens, it will be about a month into the hike.   

 For the record, there are two places on the trail I intend to get as much ice cream as I want.   The milk shakes in the Shenandoah Park (either black raspberry or blackberry, I can’t remember),  and Morano Gelato in Hanover.  For the locals, it’s worth the trip.  The young lady that opened the shop trained in Italy.   Ben and Jerry’s is no longer located in Hanover, so that gives you an idea of how good it is.   I won’t find it too difficult to skip the “1/2 gallon challenge” that is traditional at the 1/2 way point.   It’s brought down many a hiker – stopped them cold for a few hours since they couldn’t do anything but digest it – including move.  

~ by quilteresq on March 1, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
