The visor hack.

I don’t like baseball caps, which are really the most practical thing for sun on the trail.   So, last year I spent some time cruising Concord for a synthetic sun visor.   Found it in the golf department.   It was the only synthetic one at the time in Concord.   The problem?  The logo.   I hate wearing any clothing with logos, and generally don’t buy them.  This one became particularly offensive to me as the year progressed.   Yeah, we won’t get into how much of a fan I was of the Tour, and how I refuse to watch it now.   But, I figured it could be fixed.   

Image

 It was quite difficult sewing the cover strip on the curved, stiff hat, but I don’t think it looks too bad.  I also shortened the back strap, which was far too long, and removed the tag.  I figured that between what I took off on the strap and the inside label, I could afford the weight of the pieced cover strip.  

 

Image

~ by quilteresq on February 27, 2013.

3 Responses to “The visor hack.”

  1. Hah, excellent hack, well done! I’m really looking forward to following your progress on the hike, hope you get to update this blog regularly.

    • I don’t think it will be TOO difficult. In 2003, we used libraries to update our blog – no smart phones. I did give up on the blog toward the end, though.

  2. Now that they are finally cleaning up the sport of cycling, you refuse to watch it? Guess they should have continued to lie and cover up.

    Check out Taylor Phinney. The new generation shouldn’t suffer from the actions of all the jackasses that came before them.

    I wouldn’t wear that visor either though, just change it to ” Liestrong”

    Good luck out there. If you get tired, EPO, HGH and blood transfusions might not be a bad idea.

Leave a Reply

 
