Some things I’ll miss when I leave

I was doing quite a bit of winter hiking until the last couple of weeks – all of it within a couple of miles from my home.   In these hikes, I rarely ran into anyone.   These are a couple of pics from a town owned property that takes off into the wood less than 1/4 mile from my home.   ImageImage

It was a lovely walk on newly constructed snowmobile trails.  I’m respectful when we have snow, and leave the area to the snowmobilers, but in the earlier part of the winter, we didn’t have enough snow cover for them.

 The trails went around an old beaver pond, and some sort of large bird – likely egrets, moved into the area and used it as a rookery.   Boscawen also has a pond with nesting loons.    Sometimes it pays to look close to home.   

~ by quilteresq on February 27, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
