Midwinter stretch

I haven’t walked much further than around the block since the beginning of January because of the flare of plantar fasciitis.   But I’ve been stretching, my feet feel better, and it was a nice sunny, if windy day, so I headed over to the Contoocook River walk. It was a nice 2 – 2 1/2 mile loop.  Ice creepers were definitely the appropriate footwear du jour.  There were bare spots on the trail, but also lots of really hard, slippery ice. 

I’ve been working on finding the right combination of hiking gear for colder weather that keeps me dry while hiking – so far still no luck!  I only wore a polyester turtleneck, polar fleece 100 sweater and my gore-tex rain gear as a wind layer.  While I felt dry on the walk, and mostly warm enough, when I pulled off my gore-tex, it was damp on the inside, my polar fleece was wet on the outside, and my turtleneck is also wet.  I guess it’s time to get upstairs and make my non-water proof wind layer.  

~ by quilteresq on February 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
