I guess it’s sewing today. . .

I was out last night later than usual, so I didn’t get up in time to make the Quaker meeting.   I’m kind of a zombie anyway, and I have another commitment tonight, so I guess it’s sewing day.  I love sunny days in the sewing room.   I’ll work on hiking when the days are longer in Feb.

 I’m working on my cuben fiber tarp.  Already, I’ve had to modify it.   I cut it out according to directions, realized I simply did not like the width – too narrow, so I cut six extra inches, and taped them to either side.  For the most part, I’m taping the seams with some kind of super stick tape instead of sewing them.  On tap for today – making the “beaks” for either end, with short zippers in the peaks so they can be beaks, or lay flat for use with the hammock.   Yes, that’s my own modification as well.   Going to use this piece of equipment for the entire hike. 

 

~ by quilteresq on January 29, 2012.

2 Responses to “I guess it’s sewing today. . .”

  1. I think it’s a great idea to be making and modifying your own gear for the hike. When facing the issue of water storage in excess of just my water bottle, I decided to use my Camelbak (lightweight, collapsible) but the whole bag and straps for it was too much weight. I pulled out just the bladder to use as a water bag, but to protect it I pulled out the sewing machine and made a light cloth cover for it.

  2. I’ll have to remember to post a pic of my backpacking shower – a camelback with a shower head – and I too made a plain nylon bag so I could hang it from whatever and shower. Actually, we didn’t use it for backpacking, but for our 2003 bike ride across the Pacific Northwest and across to Michigan. I seem to recall that it also had a regular hose on it, and we just switched out the hose to shower. It’s now at our yurt, and I still use it occasionally – we have no running water up there, and all the showers are outdoors. My “shower” for the hike will likely consist of an extra gatorade bottle cap, drilled in a shower configuration. I do like to have a means to keep clean!

Leave a Reply

 
