Uh oh. . .

Seems like a strange time to have plantar fasciitis rearing its ugly head while I’m starting serious and excited about hike planning. . . but it’s true.  Not sure why it took me so long to realize it that this was the problem.   Thinking back, I know exactly why I started exhibiting symptoms – my winter “snow sneakers” – my standard outdoor boots unless it’s quite cold – started breaking down.  I’ve cycled through several different foot beds this winter, as they were uncomfortable to hike in.  And still I have that feeling that my heels are on fire when I walk in them – now extended to feeling like that all the time. 

 I have plenty of time to correct the situation for this year’s hiking season.   For one, I fished out my long-neglected “night splints.”  So far, I can’t wear them all night, but I manage to get an hour or so per foot per night.  And  calf stretches help.  And, I’ve started keeping the bedroom slippers – with added arch support – by the bed so i don’t even have to walk to the bathroom barefoot.  Sigh.  That part is annoying. 

Luckily, I know that I beat this 10 years ago and haven’t had a serious problem until now.  Already starting to feel better, and only been actively working on it a few days.  On the good side, I’ve resurrected my copy of Sretching, so I guess I’m starting conditioning early.  

~ by quilteresq on January 17, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
